Friday, March 21, 2008

Prayers for Peace and Healing


It's Good Friday, a day of prayer and reflection. My sister-in-law/love Mary, my brother Chris' widow, sent this to me today. Mary is an amazing woman, filled with hope and love. I too am a firm believer in the power of all forms of prayer. So simple, so powerful and so appropriate for this sacred day. Here's the text of the message:


In WWII, there was an advisor to Churchill who organized a group of people who dropped what they were doing every night at a prescribed hour for one minute to collectively pray for the safety of England, it's people and peace. This had an amazing effect as bombing stopped!

There is now a group of people who are organizing the same thing here in America .

If you would like to participate: each evening at 9:00 PM Eastern Time(8:00 PM Central, 7:00 PM Mountain, 6:00 PM Pacific), stop whatever you are doing and spend one minute praying: for the safety of the United States, our troops, our citizens and for peace in the world. If you know anyone who would like to participate, please pass this along. Someone said if people really understood the full extent of the power we have available through prayer, we might be speechless. [AMEN!]

Our prayers are the most powerful asset we have. Please pass this on to anyone who you think will pray for our nation


Nurture the living,
Care for the dying,
Honor the dead.
Page from Prayer Bead Exchange Booklet 2007

No comments: